Oscraps

A Call to Join the Art Journaling Challenges

pachimac

I solemnly swear I am up to no good!
CHEERY O
In the back part of the forum, the Art Journaling Challenge team and the cheeryos have been discussing the Art Journaling challenge and why people might not be joining in to the fun. Many people think that they can't "do" art journaling, or it just isn't their style. Some people feel like they have to have some kind of special skills to do art journaling, but it just isn't true!

The first thing I want you to know is that we are not experts. Don’t be worried that you aren’t “good enough” yet or that you are too new to do these challenges. I'm pretty new to this style as well, having started in the last year or so.

I PROMISE you that if you play along with us, and give us half a chance, you will find yourself growing in the art journal style. Pretty soon you will notice that paint and gesso are your friends!

Do you know why I can promise you that? I can promise you that because the biggest secret of art journaling is this:

THERE IS NO RIGHT OR WRONG WAY TO DO IT!

Yes, you heard me correctly. There is no right or wrong, no grades, no “more talented than me” or anything else of that kind of thinking. Stick with us, and you will find yourself enjoying yourself more than you ever thought. Throw away your critical self. Put her in a box and tape that sucker shut!!!

The only rule is to be inspired by the topic we provide. You can get deep with your journaling. You can have no journaling at all. Remember that this is for anyone who wants to be inspired by the topic!

With that said, I went through the gallery and picked out some pages that are NOT in the art journaling gallery that actually would work quite well as art journaling. Many of the comments we get is that people don't know how to do it, or it's just not their style. I posit that EVERYONE can do art journaling.