Oscraps

The Memory Thing...

MrsPeel

so, there is this chat going on in Paula's team, where all of us have memory problems. even someone who is under 40 has a bit of trouble.
MY doctor said even if it is neurological (because I have something that goes beyond the "usual") stress interferes with tests results, so they are waiting for certian things to sort out before going under the CAT & MRI....

I reckon part of the whole thing is to blame on technology...

.. before cel phones, microwaves even, computers, dishwashers and all devices that gets stuff done....we had to memorise things.
I studied in a time in which to get through an exam you needed to read a text book..... now, everything is kind of done by technology, I don't know Sarita's mobile number, because I have it on speel dial in my cel & the house phone.....
so the memory is a bit like a muscle, of you dont use it, atrophia, right?

either that OR......
we are ALL of us intoi early onset Alzhaimers!!!!!!...which is great, as we wont remember that we didn't remember LOL
I panicked until a while ago with the thought, but then I met a woman who is far gone, she thinks she is Queen Victoria and is having the time of her life.....
what do you guys think?
I know some of you mention (nancyR maybe?) having a bit of memory space out thing...
are we just loosing concentration in society as a whole?

Ellen

well I know I've got memory problems but that is due to neurological damage after an accident and you can train your brains.

I think the attention span of todays youth has got shorter judging by the way the telly gives information out , flick from one thing to the next.
They don't need to remember a thing as it's all on line and in the phone just ask google. use it or loose it ,those brains

faerywings

The Loopy-O
CHEERY O
Yeah, ITA Ellen. I think that having access to just about anything that they need on the computer/smartphone really limits how much they need to use their memory.