Oscraps

Nursing
L

Nursing

Here is my journaling if you want to read it:

I have never scrapped this story. I only have one picture from the almost 15 months that I nursed my girl. This is my nursing story. It was started when they were 4 months old. I can't believe I've been nursing for 4 months as of tomorrow. What a great experience it has been so far.

I had my girls at 33 weeks and 6 days, 27 hours after my water broke. I started pumping about 14 hours after I had them. I practiced nursing them the next morning. Its funny how much of it is a blur even though it was only 4 months ago. The girls were given an IV with nutrition, and bottle feed starting with 5-10 cc of my colostrums or formula. That when I went to pump, I got next to nothing. I didn't realize that I could pump directly into the little bottles so I was pumping into the 4 oz amedela bottles that came with the horns for the pump. When you are barely getting anything, pouring from one bottle to another does not work.

The next morning, Friday, I pumped and got nothing. Of course being a Friday the lactation consultant was not in. I was also coming home from the hospital with out the girls. I had a borrowed Medela pump in style but still needed to get the horns. I decided to rent a pump. I rented a hospital grade Amedela pump that was the same as I using in the hospital. That afternoon at home I pumped and got very little. I had to combine multiple pumping sessions to have any milk to bring to the hospital.

At this point I kept on pumping every 3 hours during then day if I was home. I didn't pump overnight because I figured this was my last chance for sleep. The NICU nurses didn't let me nurse during part of the time because they wanted to track what the girls ate.