Oscraps

Grooming your pets

Jam-on-toast

CHEERY O
When I was a kid, we got a poodle and my mother joined a course on how to cut a poodle's hair/fur. Not sure if it was specifically for poodle owners, but the point is that all dog grooming was always done at home - bathing, cutting, nail clipping... Our first dog was a Labrador, so she was not a high-maintenance dog and, naturally, we did all the grooming by ourselves. Our current dog - an English cocker spaniel - is not exactly a low-maintenance breed, but, following in my mother's footsteps, I bought brushes, scissors, and a pet hair trimmer, watched several YT videos, and learned how to do it myself. I'm no big professional, but his curly fur is rather forgiving so he actually looks cute. It had never occurred to me to take him to a pet groomer until our neighbor asked where we have him groomed.

What about you? Do you take your pets somewhere or do you groom them yourself?

AK_Tracy

My shih-tzu dogs go to the groomers. I tried really hard to groom them myself. I have physical limits and trying to get them to hold still was a nightmare. They looked horrible. For $50 (after tip) per dog, they are shaved short, washed, dried, nails, glands, all done. I drop them off and pick them up and they look amazing. I really wanted to do them at home and be an amazing doggy mom but for me, I had to admit I am a better dog mom taking them to the groomer every other month. I couldn't get between their toes, or feet or legs or face. They looked horrible. Almost diseased. Our wirehair pointing griffons I do bath myself. They dont get trimmed, just bathed, brushed, and nails cut. I drag them into the shower with me and scrub them. The bonus is that when they get out and shake all over the floor is wet and I grab the mop and poof floors clean too.

Cherylndesigns

I'm in The Zone ~ The "O" Zone
CHEERY O